Pharmacy Student interested in DO school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Digsbe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm a P2 pharmacy student and I've taken an interest in osteopathic medicine and I am strongly considering applying to DO school after I graduate in 2 years with my Pharm.D. I would like to look for some advice as far as making this kind of a change and some feedback.

At this point I am strongly considering applying, I have not taken the MCAT yet but plan to if anything to see how I would place.

Personally, I love patient centered care. I'm blessed to be in a curriculum in pharmacy school that focuses heavily on patient centered care, meeting specific patient needs and being aware of those needs and other general public health issues. I really want to take a more patient-centered model and apply it in practice as a physician. I have nothing against MDs or allopathic medical school, but I feel that if I go to medical school that DO is probably a better fit for me. I am interested in OMM and learning more about it. Given my background in pharmacy I am comfortable in my knowledge of pharmaceutical treatment and would like to learn more about physical techniques and non-pharmacological treatment for certain ailments while also making full use of pharmaceutical agents when it comes to treatment. I have a few areas of interest ranging from general primary care, internal medicine and up to a specialty in oncology.