post bac/SMP or just more undergrad classes?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gregwaymer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated last spring and have been trying to dig myself out of my GPA hole since. I graduated with a 3.1 cgpa and 2.9 sgpa, but have taken 4 classes at home (3.85 gpa in them, but all lower level science classes) and my cgpa is now 3.3 and sgpa is 3.1. If i take 2-3 more classes this spring (upper level this time) and get more A's I can get the cgpa up to 3.4 and sgpa to 3.2.

Would it be worth the time taking more classes this spring at a much cheaper price (about 20k) than a post bac or SMP, or is it just a waste of time because I'll still be such an underdog GPA-wise?

I do not have an mcat score yet (taking the test 3 weeks from today) so it's hard to judge. However, if I were to take the undergrad classes this spring I would need to register asap.

Thoughts anyone?

Members don't see this ad.

If you are sure you can get a 3,7 - 4.0 in a highly regarded with SMP, you will probably increase your chance better than undergrad. If you get anything significantly less, you will prove what MD Adcoms might think of candidates of low performance: they will not succeed in medical school.

I know a student got into Tulane with a 3.0 GPA, but he or she probably had a very high MCAT (x > 39) in conjunction with a very nice EC's that stood out.

Your best bet is increase your MCAT and attend a respected SMP/Post Bacc. I think it's too late to consider extensive GPA repair.

Did you already get a science degree? If not, maybe apost-bacc could help you obtain one, while increasing the GPA.