Post Bacc's versus Masters?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Notoriousjae

DAT Rockstar
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a predental student in my final year with a 2.7 cum gpa with only a semes left to graduate.In my case i was wondering which would be better to pursue after graduation? a post bacc or masters of science in biology considering i've already accumulated about 130 credits in undergrad.

Members don't see this ad.

Not to hijack, also wondering the same thing and if a masters AND a postbacc would help in the same situation for med...rather would it be advisable to do a master and then a postbacc etc.

good question. i asked my advisor this because it is a tough decision. Postbaccs are likely more expensive, more redundant since you'll be taking the same courses over. What fun is that? A masters could go just as well on your application but you will also gain research experience and perhaps get your name on a publication. You're learning new things, possibly health related and you can still show your dedication through getting good grades. With a postbacc you still might not get a medschool acceptance (unless linkage) and then be out the money and time while with a masters you can continue in your career in health/science. I've made the decision NOT to do a postbacc but that's just me. If you're absolutely sure that you could never be happy without an MD than try to get into a postbacc that sponsors you.

Also there are Special Masters Programs which gear you towards medical school but you still obtain a MS. One example is the new cincinatti MS in physiology. 20 grand but you get a ms in physiology in only 1 year! quite nice i think.

Members don't see this ad :)