Pre-Pharmacy Advice & Chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NDPharmacy

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, been looking on this forum for a while and decided to post. I graduated in May with my undergraduate biology degree and now I'm going back for an extra year to a few extra pre-requisites for pharmacy school this fall and spring. I have a fairly high gpa (3.9+), but no PCAT as I plan on signing up soon for late October/early November. This summer I worked as a pharmacy intern and put in nearly 400 hours. Other than that, I don't really have any pharmacy experience. For ECs, my community service is around 300 hours right now with a lot of church volunteering/activities as well as coaching youth basketball, but no research experience. During my junior year in a science elective course, I had a very difficult and picky professor and I got accused of plagiarism/academic misconduct on a small in-class assignment, which resulted in the lowering of my grade by 1 letter and thus a C grade. I do admit it was a mistake and a lapse in judgement on the assignment, but it wasn't intentional and I learned from it. I am disappointed it happened and I talked to the registrar and the misconduct is not on my official transcript at all, but is in a confidential FERPA university recording database. My biggest concern is when I apply for pharmacy school, how will I overcome something like this? When I am filling out my application I plan on explaining this situation and that it was a mistake and how I learned from it and have grown and it will never happen again. I have never had any other problems during my undergraduate education and hope something like this isn't a huge red flag or will prevent me from getting into pharmacy school. My plan is to apply to my state school, a few area schools and most likely 3 year schools such as LECOM-Erie, Midwestern in Glendale, and Roseman in Henderson, NV. Also,