Progress note missing from paper chart

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ferroportin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Medicine resident. A few days ago, I wrote a progress note, had the attending sign off on it, then put it in the chart. Today, the attending says that he can't find that note in the chart, even though he knows it was placed there (and yesterday's progress note is there as well, so the management plan can still be read). What's normally done about this? Do I have to rewrite notes in these situations? It's kind of ridiculous to have to redo work every time a clerk/staff member loses parts of a chart.

Members don't see this ad.

What's normally done is that hospitals enter the 21st century and use an EMR.

Well, obviously, but my hospital is stuck in the 1970s, so what can be done in the (admittedly atavistic) context?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Be grateful that the attending does not see this as a failure on your part, and write the darn note.

If you had written it, he hadn't seen it, and he noticed it wasn't there, even if you claimed you had written it and put it there he would always wonder if you were just saving face or spaced it.

You got lucky.

There must always be a note.
Repeat after me, there must always be a note. Every day.
Literally, there must be a note. Like medicare or someone really important won't pay if there's no progress note FOR EVERY ****ING DAY they are there.
Missing notes is an offense probably not as bad as stabbing an attending to death when it comes to keeping you around, but it's a close second. The only thing worse would be killing a patient or getting the hospital sued, and I won't comment which is worse of the two.
"You are not here to spend time with patients, you are here to get the notes done." That last quote, I am not f8cking around with you, word.