Pros and Cons of entering Med School (MD) vs DO, Dental School and PA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MTA98

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN!

I'm currently a first-semester freshman, and majoring in health sciences. I wasn't really sure where to put this topic, so I figured this might be a good place. I've been looking up different ways to apply my major in some form post-bachelor's education, and 4 different pathways caught me.

The first, and original goal, was to apply to MD school, and if my MCAT/GPA weren't satisfactory enough to enter many medical schools, then try to enter DO school.

The second option was to perhaps enter PA school-I wasn't a fan of high school physics, and heard that Physics wasn't necessary for PA school. PA school is overall, cheaper, yet I've heard that PA's can be the "scum of the "medical world,"" in comparison to MDs.

The third option was to become a Dentist. I haven't honestly looked into becoming a dentist that much, but I have heard that their hours are a bit more flexible than those of a MD/DO.

My biggest concerns are that
1) I get to stick with what I LOVE.
2) I don't get extremely burnt out before entering the workforce.
3) The easiness of securing a job after, so that I can start working on student loans ASAP, and I've also heard with the rise of PAs, there's more competition.
4) Lots of people I know want to become PAs now, instead of MD/DOs. Does this mean PA school is becoming more competitive, and MD School slots are STILL competitive, yet would there may be more openings?
5) Financial stability by around age 30.. Unfortunately, that does really start to be the biggest con of medical school, where I won't be in the positive for quite some time.