psychiatry MD vs psychiatric NP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

historymajor88

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm 26 years old and currently working on science prereqs for grad programs. Three years ago I majored in political science and history thinking I'd go to law school, but decided I do not want to be an attorney. I currently work at a hospital and extremely interested in psychiatry. Which route would be better getting an MD and doing a psychiatry residency or doing a direct entry psychiatric nurse practitioner program? My understanding is NP can work independently of a physician in some states. My goal would ultimately be to open a private practice/clinic. My concerns about the MD route is that is will be a long process and I won't be able to make any real money until I'm 35. Thank you in advance for guidance.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm 26 years old and currently working on science prereqs for grad programs. Three years ago I majored in political science and history thinking I'd go to law school, but decided I do not want to be an attorney. I currently work at a hospital and extremely interested in psychiatry. Which route would be better getting an MD and doing a psychiatry residency or doing a direct entry psychiatric nurse practitioner program? My understanding is NP can work independently of a physician in some states. My goal would ultimately be to open a private practice/clinic. My concerns about the MD route is that is will be a long process and I won't be able to make any real money until I'm 35. Thank you in advance for guidance.

That is true. When you enter residency you actually earn tokens instead of cash. Whereas you actually earn real green cash if you go the NP route.

On a serious note, if you want to practice medicine then go MD. You will make money during residency. Albeit not a lot, but you will survive.