Pursuing music/post bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Henry123

Reaction score
So:

I am a freshman studying music at a pretty good music school that is attached to a university with a good medical school. I am trying to pursue music performance and pre-med.

So far, I'm doing pretty well. I got straight As my first semester and have started research in a lab.

The problem is that I don't have much time for music, which I really want to get good at (I want to be able to play at a high professional level, and many of the students in my music school go on to have good careers in orchestras/in jazz etc.). I know that if I had the time that these students had for music, I'd be able to reach the level I wanted to.

Would it be OK for me to drop pre med during undergrad, and pursue a post-bacc after I graduate college?

Would medical schools look down on this?

Members don't see this ad.

More like this is squarely to your advantage. Med schools don't care what your major is, they want a 4.0, and the best way is to take courses that you're passionate about. You still need to do well on the science prereqs and MCAT no matter what.

I am 15 years out of undergrad, 10 from PhD, retired from my first career at this point, and I'm just getting around to applying. I am multiple decades younger than some people who successfully get in. Having more life experience outside the premed monoculture is definitely good. You see people taking increasing numbers of gap years and it's practically an expectation by now.