questions NOT to ask the older residency applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MeowMix

10+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
OK, I am going to BEG those of you interviewing us to please stop asking me questions like this (even if they are thinly disguised in politically correct language):
1. are you going to follow my orders, even though you are 20 years older than me?
2. are you going to show up to work on time and work all night, at your advanced age (40+)?
3. are you really single and childless?

I'd just like some more imaginative questions. My resume, my clerkship grades, and my glowing LORs are telling you that I am reliable. Of course I know how to get up in the morning and do my job; I've been doing it for 25 years. And I have a great relationship and lots of friends; they just might not be relevant to my work.

Please.

Members don't see this ad.

4. What hobbies do you have?

(DID YOU EVEN GO TO MEDICAL SCHOOL!!! I KILLED MY HOBBIES WEEK 2!):mad:

My husband and I matched last year in a famiy medicine program. He just turned 48 and I am turning 49 at the end of the month.

We are in our first year of family medicine residency.

One question they DID not have to "skirt" around? The pregnancy thing!!! I would tell them up front that children are in my past and any reasonable person would believe that.