Recent Graduate of College With a Bio Degree. Lower 3.35 GPA. Would getting a MS help my situation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mortalcoil

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated last year June 2014 and I have begun working at a vetenary pharmaceudical company as a microbiologist. My gpa after graduation was low due to issues on my later years in college and I thought that my chances were shot. But I was reading that alternative routes such as getting a Masters could help aid in showing your commitment in medicine (I am looking for a program in microbiology). Is this a solid plan? or should I consider alternative solutions to compensate for my lower gpa?

Members don't see this ad.

You have the options of completing a post-bacc program or a special Master's program (SMP) to remediate your low undergrad GPAs. While this is a good option for those with low GPAs, it's kind of a one shot deal. If you do not perform well in these programs, you should just consider another career option since most medical schools would not consider applicants who fail out of these programs. Alternatively, you could take your MCAT and try for DO schools.

Reactions: 1 users
"Vetenary pharmaceudical"?

Veterinary pharmaceutical, and maybe you should consider that medicine is rigorous and not for everybody before jumping in.

Members don't see this ad :)
It's hard to say if an SMP is better for you, or if a Post-bacc would be better. You haven't said what your science GPA is, and you said your GPA after college, which I'm hoping you mean your GPA at graduation? You may be better off repeating courses and reapplying to DO schools... Need more info to decide

Reactions: 1 user