Research: If you don't need to publish, what DO you need?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StilgarMD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So

like most paniced Pre-MD/PhD students, im like "OMG IM NOT PUBLISHED, HOW CAN I GET ACCEPTED?"

after reading Neuronix's post about it, i literally laughed out loud at his answer to the question, but it leaves me with a new question. if a publication isn't required, what is?

i am currently working in a lab and have been for a year. im working with expensive cells (umbilical cord blood units) and im studying a protein that's extremely variable in expression (either less than 1% of mononuclear cells or 40%, 40% representing what i want, and about 1/10 units) and obviously its been difficult. during this entire first year, i have amassed a lot of knowledge concerning the field im studying, and the protein im working with. im truly fascinated by it. many an unfortunate passers by have gotten an hour long lecture about the many fields which tie into what im doing

problem is i spent that year also failing at western blots. we didn't know whether it was me or the antibody for a long time, but finally confirmed my technique was fine (did one another grad student had done) and finally got a suitable positive control and got a band.