Retake pre-req for Optometry school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jaslynn89

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First of all, I would like to talk a little about my personal background. I am an immigrant from Myanmar, and I came to US five years ago. I just graduated from UCLA with 3.0 GPA majoring in biochemistry. I was a transfer student from community college, and had 3.6 transfer GPA. During my junior year in UCLA, my father was diagnosed as a cancer patient and passed away in my senior year. My grades in UCLA were inconsistent due to high level of anxiety & stress. I weren't able to focus, and extremely nervous when it comes to taking exam. I have two C+ for biology classes (Genetic& biotechnology classes), and one C- (O chem lab2). I did mostly okey for my biochemistry classes, got A- and B. I was a bit discouraged, and depressed when I was in UCLA. I didn't join any pre-optometry clubs which I regret about it. Recently, I just decided to go to optometry school, and I would like to know if I should retake those lower division classes. Would it really increase my chances of getting in? My first choice is Berkeley, and other optometry schools in CA. Thank you in advance& I'd really appreciate your help.

Members don't see this ad.