Returning to OR after CCM fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mikey1982

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm finishing up a CCM fellowship next week and starting my job soon. Im nervous since its my first time as an attending haven't been in the OR literally for a year and don't want to look bad in front of my new employers. Hoping it all comes back to me quickly in terms of flow in the OR, blocks, preop/postop.
Any advice on preparing in the two weeks prior to returning to the OR
thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry I obviously cant answer your question, but I had a question if you dont mind. Why did you decide to go back to the OR vs CCM or CCM/OR? I know it can be hard to find CCM/OR.

I think he means it will be his first time back in an OR since the start of his fellowship. When we do CCM, and I'm assuming a Pain Fellowship, unless we get the opportunity to moonlight, it is a non-operative year. No OR time at all.

I will be in the same boat. Although, I'm going to try and moonlight during one my of elective months next month.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Your first case will be kinda of mess. and you will make some CA-1 mistakes.

After your first day, you'll be back up to speed. Congrats on finishing fellowship!

I'm finishing a pain fellowship but will be doing an academic anesthesia/acute pain job and will be in the same boat as you guys. Having not been in the OR for a while, I hope it comes back soon.

Neostigmine alone, when given for reversal of NMB, is not a great rate control agent for someone in rapid A-fib.

Or, stated another way, it's too good of a rate control agent. ;)