SES Question.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Conflagration

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not applying until next year, so no sweating about needing an answer ASAP, but I have a really odd situation.

I grew up poor, and then my parents slowly rose into better jobs as I got older. Even now, my mom still qualifies as EO1 because she doesn't have a bachelor's degree, but a really nice job. My dad is borderline- he may qualify as EO2 or he may not be either status because he's got a Bachelor's through military experience but I think his job is considered skilled labor since he is in charge of some techs, but he still gets his hands dirty (he does maintenance for a hospital and parts out work orders). But I'm not sure if that counts as an executive position or not.

I don't speak/live with them any more- I was disowned for being a lesbian (a year before I finished my Bachelor's, too). I'm probably going to apply for Medicaid while I look for work. I'll be going back in August at the latest to knock out my pre-reqs and apply.

What kind of info do I need for my parents? I may not have figures for their wages if that was needed, for example. If I couldn't provide that info, would I be disqualified from having this indicator? Or would I qualify based on my current status?

Thanks in advance for your insights!

Members don't see this ad.

As far as I can tell, these indicators are used for statistical purposes, not for admission decisions. For admission decisions, there is an optional section with your parents' names, highest degree attained. employment and so forth. If you don't want to provide the information or, in the case of income, don't have the information, I think that you can leave it blank or answer "don't know".

Having the indicator will neither help nor hurt your chances of being admitted.

Reactions: 1 user
Okay, thanks!