Shadowing

Should I pursue oral surgery or trauma surgery?

• Oral Surgery

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Trauma Surgery

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

DocGrind24/7

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys what's up, this is actually my first post so I'm eager to see how useful this network can be. I'm currently a 17 year old student indulging in my senior year of high school trying to live it up while I can. I'm battling to decide whether I want to pursue oral surgery or trauma surgery and have had the privilege of shadowing an oral surgeon quite a few times here recently. Is there any way I could shadow a trauma surgeon and if so how do I go about setting that up? Let me know if this is possible and who I would need to contact to make this happen. Seeing both spectrums would hopefully narrow my field of desire so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Shadowing in trauma surgery is difficult because of the intensity level, the physicians and entire team need their attention completely devoted to what's going on in order to save a life. My school does not allow anyone that isn't a trauma worker in the level I trauma bay and also in those particular surgeries. But that's my school. Best you can do is use the hospital directory and contact the administrative assistants within the trauma/Critical care department and ask them to shadow.

Lastly, though you may "like" surgery right now, it is hasty to make a specialty decision. I have no clue what I want to do and I've shadowed in neurosurg, EM, internal med, endocrinology, and gastroenterology. Enjoy your college years and worry about getting good grades, MCAT, ECs.