Sharing my good news!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmGrl

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I'm going to share a little story of my struggle with pharmacy school....it seems like it might end well, though!

I am a non-traditional student, married to a Marine, and have been moving all over the place, all while trying to get pre-requisites done for pharmacy school. I have completed all of the pre-req's (finished them up in 2010), but have had some set-backs with the school out here not wanting some of the classes, such as Biology, Chemistry, and Organic Chemistry that I took on the East coast. Needless to say, I was devastated. I was faced with retaking all of those courses, or finding something else to do. I explored a few other options, but I have wanted to be a pharmacist for so long that I can't think of anything else I could possibly want to do. I challenged the school on their decision about my credits, and they relented, saying I could use them for a bachelor's degree, but they would not count as the pre-req's for the pharmacy program. Either way, if I wanted to go to school there, I was retaking some core science classes. I am hard headed, and was not going to do that.

I called a school in North Carolina and had a nice long talk with someone in the SOP who was extremely helpful! She had me send her my unofficial transcripts, checked out my classes, and said the only thing I need to do is take the PCAT. Been there, done that (6 years ago). I'll do it again, though! She said "I'm on fire!"

This is not intended to motivate anyone (but if it does, that's fine) or be some kind of sappy post or anything of the sort. Just a story about how happy I am that things might finally be working out in my favor!

I have not been accepted, and am not applying until this summer for the 2013 school year, and I realize I am being optimistic. Hopefully not overly optimistic!