Should I accept an SMP offer? 3.82 GPA with 3WL this cycle.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

reaction mechanisms

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I was just offered a spot at Rosalind Franklin for their masters in biomedical science program. I’m a Texas resident currently on 3WL this cycle. I have a 3.82 gpa, 504 mcat, plenty of shadowing, clinical experience, working with the underserved, and great letters of recommendation. My gpa is fine obviously so I’m not sure if this program will be very beneficial to my application. I’m hoping to get an acceptance this round and was planning on just reapplying this upcoming cycle if need be. Thoughts on the SMP?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all, I was just offered a spot at Rosalind Franklin for their masters in biomedical science program. I’m a Texas resident currently on 3WL this cycle. I have a 3.82 gpa, 504 mcat, plenty of shadowing, clinical experience, working with the underserved, and great letters of recommendation. My gpa is fine obviously so I’m not sure if this program will be very beneficial to my application. I’m hoping to get an acceptance this round and was planning on just reapplying this upcoming cycle if need be. Thoughts on the SMP?
I'm not an adcom, so take my advice with a grain of salt, but the weak point of your application is clearly not your GPA, so what do you expect to gain through a SMP? Without specifics, everything you described sounds fine other than the MCAT. I know TX numbers are a little below AMCAS, but how does 504 stack up? If you could get it over 510, that would probably help a lot. The only other variable is interviewing skills. How do you think they went? Good luck!!!

Last edited:
Reactions: 8 users
It would be a waste of $. Save yourself that money unless you go to a school with a conditional acceptance (eg: Temple ACMS). But were I you, I would just re-take the MCAT and ride out those waitlists.