Should I bother applying to top-tier schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

johnnytest

MS-4
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I took the MCAT twice with the following scores
1st time: 11/6/14, total: 31
2nd time: 11/9/12, total: 32

I know my verbal score is very low for top-tier schools. But, I am considering applying to the following schools:

1. Cornell
2. Columbia
3. NYU
4. Mt. Sinai
5. Yale
6. John Hopkins
7. Univ of Pittsburgh

I am thinking of applying to these schools because I am applying mainly to schools on the East Coast, hence why there are no Mid/West top-tier schools on the list. I already have 18 schools which are low-middle tier. Also, I am an undocumented student and I cannot apply to schools that require U.S. citizenship or permanent residency. The top-tier schools do not consider residency status in their admissions process and are quite generous in terms of providing university funding since I won't be eligible for federal aid. Lastly, on MSAR, these schools have accepted students with a 9 in VR but they were in the 10th percentile of VR scores.

The rest of my stats are below. I would greatly appreciate any advice. Thank You.

First Time Applicant.
21 year old taking a gap year.
Undergrad Major: Biomedical Engineering (Graduated from U.S. Accredited University)
Cumulative GPA: 3.82
Science GPA: 3.82
State of Residence: New York
MCAT:
1st time: 11/6/14, Total: 31
2nd time: 11/9/12, Total: 32

Relevant Experiences:
Clinical: 300+ hours in Emergency Department
Research: 2 years+
Extras: Mentor, Tutor, Teaching Assistant, Club Leader,
Gap Year Plans: Working on a publication for next year. Volunteering in Clinic. Perhaps working full-time in a research lab.
Letters: Total: 5; 2 from science, 2 from research mentors, 1 from clinical program director. Letters will be sent with Pre-Med Committee Letter.
AMCAS Submitted: July 24th. Waiting to be Verified.