Should I get an attorney to review my contract?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ramen

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looking for opinions here from people who have done it. Or if you haven't, why not?

I am finishing my fellowship and have an academic job lined up for next year. The lawyer I was referred to wants a $1500 retainer and charges $430 per hour. If I was going into a private group I would get the contract reviewed for sure, but I wonder at a major academic center if it's really worth it. Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't. I spent a bundle on an attorney when I went into PP (supposedly one of the best in the nation), and the changes they made in the contract that were finally agreed upon mutually were negligible. When I was a resident, everybody in my hospital (including non-pathology residents) always talked about getting a lawyer to review their contract so it seemed pretty boiler plate. Anyone can read a contract (lawyer or not), just like any pathologist can read a brain biopsy (neuropath trained or not). It's just a matter if you want an "expert" to review it. But the margin of error and complexity is far less in the average physician job contract than a biopsy. And a contract can be adequately evaluated by any physician with common sense. Two of the main things that are typically contested in a contract is termination conditions and non-compete/restrictive covenant. I would review those carefully, but my guess is this will be less stringent at an academic institution vs PP.