Should I include a negative experience with healthcare as a motivation for med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Juuco

Reaction score
My father passed away while I was in high school due to a massive heart attack. While in the ER the staff gave my mother and I a lot of unnecessary grief. Conversely, I have seen a lot of great things working in the ED and plan on paralleling the two. This situation really impacted my thoughts on medicine and is a large reason why I am a premed student. I dont want to put others down too much and maybe I should write about something a little more positive--I also I don't want to come across as a holier than thou prick. Additionally, I am applying for an early entry program that doesn't require your traditional PS, but I'm assuming they are similar.

Members don't see this ad.

Have you met with admission staff at the EA/Ed schools? Have they gone over your application and given you the go ahead to apply EA?