Should I retake my Biology class or....?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lovemedicine416

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a sophomore premed student at a decent large public institution and I recently got my transcript. I found out that I got an A- on both of organic chemistry and cellular biology courses, which are both premed requirements,and I only took 13 credits this semester to make sure that I will get 4.0. Maybe I shouldn't be saying this, but I am really depressed by what I received and have been so since two weeks ago, when I calculated myself that I am at the cutoff for an A-. The reason I am saying this is because I worked really really hard for these classes, especially for my cellular biology class, which I almost slept 3-6 hours per night and sacrificing my Thanksgivings Break and other social events to study for... I was really hoping for an A because unlike my other premed classes, I felt that biology classes (this is my first premed bio class by the way) "define" me as a premed and getting As in them is what makes me feel confident that I will get into medical school ...

After working so hard and still receiving an A- while sacrificing my other classes' GPAs, I felt horrible and lost confident in myself (sorry if this seems absurd... but I felt as if my hard work didn't pay off)

After talking to a few people, I came up with two solutions: Should I 1) Retake the class or 2) Take harder premed biology classes and get As on those and prove to medical school that I am capable of what it takes?

Thank you very much for all your time and consideration!

Members don't see this ad.

some people get Bs and turn out just fine, an A- is not the end of the world

relax and move on

Posting this thread to wine about a perfectly good grade is far more concerning then the grade itself.

Step 1: grab a beer.
Step 2: drink said beer.