Should I wait to apply? How to fill gaps in my application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LeftHandedArnold

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I have a few questions regarding how to fill gaps in my application and whether or not I should apply this year or take another gap year. I'm currently in the middle of my first gap year.

I graduated last year with a Bio degree and a 3.90 GPA. I currently work as an ER tech with about 1200 hours of clinical experience over the course of the last year. I volunteer as a youth sports coach for underprivileged kids and have about 70 hours over the last two years (roughly 2 hours per week). I also have roughly 3000-4000 hours working retail during my undergrad years. No MCAT yet, I'd be taking that in May if I were to apply this year.

Right now I see a few obvious gaps which are no shadowing experience and low volunteering hours. Regarding shadowing, I was curious if I actually needed formal shadowing hours as I work pretty closely with the MD's and DO's in the ER and I personally feel like it's been sufficient experience. However, I'm not sure adcoms will see this the same way.

Regarding my volunteering experience, I've always been a bit concerned that volunteering as a youth sports coach wouldn't be seen as adequate. Even though it's for underprivileged and at-risk youth, for some reason I feel as though it won't be seen the same as some of the other experiences I see fellow applicants talk about. Maybe this is just me being neurotic but it'd be great if someone could let me know exactly how this will be viewed. I really enjoy it, however, and I know I could write/talk about it well during the admissions process.