Starting New Club or Volunteering Abroad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

elsenor

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am in a dilemma that I hope you all on SDN can help me through. I would like to start a charitable club at the college next year OR join a new club that fundraiser to volunteer abroad. Please note that I am equally interested in doing both of these things. However, I only have time to do one.

If I start the charitable club I will have to put in time for "officer duties" and for fundraising. If I join the club that volunteers abroad for two weeks I will have to spend time fundraising to go on the trip. I think I will have to spend more time if I start a new club. But will it look bad to adcoms if I only go abroad with the club once? (I am a freshman right now) Or should I go abroad my sophomore and junior year summers?

I'm just confused as to what I should do! I am already in another service organization, so should I even start the new club? I mean, it would look good on my app. Or should I volunteer abroad? Please provide some input! I can only do one thing!

Members don't see this ad.

doing something to "look good for your app" is not ideal....do what you're more passionate about!

Stop worrying about things like this, it's neurotic and unnecessary. Stop thinking about checking boxes and what will look best. Just do what you want to do, either one is fine. Personally, I would take the opportunity to travel. Gaining cultural experience is always fun and easy to talk about.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I completely understand I should be doing what I enjoy. But I am passionate about both these things! However, I just want to understand what an adcom would see if I do one of the aforementioned activities.