Studying The Pre-Reqs Before I Actually Take Them

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnConstantine511

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to start a post-bacc in the summer of next year. In the interm, I want to go through all of pre-reqs and recommended material on my own for the MCAT. I have all the Physics that I need, and however my last Bio/Chem class was Chemistry I/II 6 years ago when I was a Freshman in college. So, I might be just a little rusty. :)

This will give me more study time for the MCAT and also make the requirements a lot easier since I plan on knocking out everything in 3 semesters in a post-bacc, taking the MCAT and going to Med School.

I was thinking about using Kahn Academy and MIT Open Courseware (free online courses) to self-study Gen Bio I/II, Gen Chem I/II, OChem I/II, BioChem, etc.

Is there any other or better material out there to self-teach all the Bio/Chem I need for MCAT? I have over 6 months until I start taking classes, so I do have a little time.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
So, anyone know some good material to teach myself Bio & Chem, so I can start studying for MCAT? Gotta do something for the next 6 months before my post-bacc, lol.

Buy a cheap textbook and read it. Get a used old edition. It'll cost you $25 together at most.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I found UCI's open courseware to be really good for general chemistry.

I highly recommend Khan Academy

Buy a cheap textbook and read it. Get a used old edition. It'll cost you $25 together at most.
+1 A text would be great reference in addition to KA. Practice problems with answers for important topics.

Reactions: 1 users
Prestudying the prereqs. I've heard it all

Reactions: 5 users
Next week... "what should I pre-study for kindergarten?"

In all seriousness, I was also a bit anxious when starting post-bacc.