Stupid question but here we go!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SKLynch

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, like my title warns, I have a stupid question but in the spirit of, "there are no stupid questions," lets give it a go!
I'm a student, working on my prereq's for vet school and I have a problem—I have a difficult time with blood and guts. I didn't used to but then I had an incident and I'm working through some PTSD but here's my question: have any of you thrown up in vet school?
I can imagine that students have but I'm neurotic and keep thinking, "Oh gawd, what if I'm the only one who will?"
To help ease me back into viewing surgeries and such, I've got the Exero Vet app but what would really help right now me is to know some of your stories.
So if you feel like sharing, that would be wonderful, share some tips about how not to puke or faint if you want, that's always welcome too ;)
Cheers!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
So I'm definitely not in school yet, but I remember being 16 (all of the other kids were 14 or younger) in a Vet Med camp through Texas A&M over summer. We toured the old vet school and they actually let us look around. The person giving us a tour even opened the old freezer and all of us saw a horse hanging from a hook in its neck from the ceiling and what looked like a dog from the hips - down standing vertically. They closed the door but everyone in my group was crying and one kid threw up - does that count? ;) Then again, none of them probably pursued this career after that.