Switching from nursing to pharmacy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ruby89

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
A little background story... I completed a bachelors degree in art history 2 years ago, but soon after decided that I wanted to go into a healthcare profession. I looked into pharmacy and nursing and found that nursing was easier to get into. I worried at the time that my undergrad GPA wouldn't even be competitive enough for nursing (3.0). I had A's in all the pre-reqs though (this was not figured into my undergrad GPA).

Fast forward a year... I got accepted into a BSN program and completed the first year. I excelled in the school work (all A's), but struggled in clinical. Even though I still received A's in my clinical, the grades did not reflect how much clinical emotionally drained me. I was miserable and depressed. I knew that I could have been a nurse, but I did not want to be a nurse. As I quit nursing over the summer I reflected back on my initial desire to become a pharmacist. I became saddened by the prospect of never using any of the knowledge I acquired. I loved the science and math pre-reqs I took for nursing. Through taking these courses, I felt confident in my decision to enter a healthcare profession. I loved patho and pharm while in nursing school, however, I soon realized that it was a mere fraction of what a nurses really need to learn. We were never tested on empirical knowledge. It was this weird subjective form of knowledge. Nonetheless, I managed because I'm a good test taker.

I hated patient interaction. I hated cleaning patients up and inserting things. I can put on a happy face and feign congeniality, but I don't want to become an actor for the rest of my life. I wanted something more. My introversion was challenged in nursing, not my brain. I eventually got comfortable interacting with patients and felt that I at least gained social skills from nursing.