Switching major from medical humanities to aviation science

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

XLap6

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, currently I'm a student at Baylor majoring in medical humanities. Ive been thinking about switching my major to aviation science because, while medical school is my primary goal, aviation has also always been a passion of mine. My concern is medical schools might not like a major in aviation as much as a major in medical humanities. While I'm not concerned about getting into medical school, I'm honors at Baylor, having a major in aviation will give me a back up if for some reason I don't get into medical school. I don't know what'd I do with a major in medical humanities if I didn't get in and graduating in aviation gives me a commercial pilots license. I also already almost have my private pilots license from flying I did during HS. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Med schools don't care what you major in, as long as you complete the pre-requisites and show that you can handle the rigors of medical school. I will say that aviation sounds like a trade/job degree which can be looked down upon. Are there classes like physics and engineering to understand the science behind flight or classes just pertaining to flying (more vocational things)?

Reactions: 1 user