Texas veteran non-trad, chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

txvet83

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am white, middle class background. I graduated from high school in 2001 and started attending CC the following fall. I majorly screwed up out of immaturity and simply stopped attending after a few weeks, resulting in four F's on my transcript (none of them were science courses). I tried to make ends meet waiting tables but ultimately ended up homeless for a little over a year. I joined the military to get a roof over my head and spent the next seven years in the Army -- NOT as a medic, 13F aka forward observer. I had an extremely combat heavy deployment in 2005, during which I experienced and inflicted a lot of horror (this comes into play later on). I got married in 2010 then had a baby and left the military in 2011. I spent the last year working as a technician for an oil field service company and basically waking up every morning feeling like I was wasting my life. I decided about four months ago that I need to be doing something to preserve the lives and livelihood of others. I feel very strongly that I need to balance the destruction I caused during my time overseas. I quit my job in June in order to pursue medicine. I used academic fresh start (which I know does not apply to med school apps) and have been back at CC for the past two summer sessions, where I have made straight A's so far. I plan to transfer to the University of Houston next summer after I do some brushing up on math and chemistry. I have an interview tomorrow for a hospice volunteer position.

I have used a couple of target GPA calculators and I am facing a maximum cGPA of ~3.67 if I make all A's for the rest of my undergraduate career. I still have the possibility of a 4.0 sGPA. I am 29 now and will be looking to start med school at 33.