Thoughts on Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine (GCSOM)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KiddCo

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking for opinions and thoughts on GCSOM as I build my school list. My family lives 20 minutes away, I grew up in the area, and I plan to live and practice in the area as well. They are a fairly new medical school and were just bought out (previous name was The Commonwealth Medical College (TCMC)).

I know that according to the MSAR the MCAT median is 511 and the GPA median is 3.66.

I graduated in 2013 with a 3.68 GPA and my MCAT full lengths are placing me at around a 510 right now. The school feels like a good match numbers wise (obviously I will know more once I take the real thing in January).

I also prefer the small town vs. a large city.

I don't see them mentioned very often here, but I'm hoping someone might have information about them that I couldn't just find reading on their website.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am from the area that Geisinger serves and have been accepted there as well. They are huge on serving their community and NEPA and they really want people that will come back and practice in the area. So much so that they created a new scholarship that basically gives a full ride if you come back and work for Geisinger after your training for the number of years that you were given aid. So if you get 2 years free, you have to give 2 years back. This year 10 students were awarded the scholarship this year I think.

They are also big on non-traditional students from what I've seen.

I'll be applying this coming cycle. I may also apply to their graduate program if I don't get in this cycle.

It doesn't have a guaranteed acceptance into the MD program, but if you do well there is a guaranteed interview. I could also use some recent LOR from an institution since I've been out of school so long.