This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Consultant_To_Doctor

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

In May of 2015 I graduated from a top 50 University with a bachelors in Biomedical Engineering and a minor in Information Technology. Medical school has always been my dream, but after junior year I was so burnt out from engineering school and didn't want to think about the possibility of medical school. Since graduating, however, I have rediscovered my love for medicine and don't see myself doing anything else. I currently work as a medical device consultant in NYC and am planning to begin applying in 2017 for a 2018 matriculation.

Here is a bit more background on myself:
-I graduated with a 3.5 GPA, which is pulled down by my poor freshman-year performance (3.67 if you don't take into account my freshman GPA). I also still need to take biochemistry.
-Come 2017, I will have observed and assisted with 400+ surgical cases for my job (neuro, ortho, ENT, and spine). This includes direct consultation with surgeons.
-150 hours of undergraduate orthopedic surgery research
-Summer internship with a health policy non-profit in DC
-Internship with a large investment bank (probably not relevant, but I might as well throw that in here)
-3 years as an RA
-A patent pending on my group's senior capstone project
-I have yet to take the MCAT, but I anticipate being able to score >85th percentile based on practice exams I have taken