To all students studying in SPAIN: Please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Plus Ultra

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I am a student from Germany, but I am currently studying in the US, and I will receive my bachelor in chemistry in 2012. After that, I want to study medicine. Originally, I had planned to go to med school in the US as well, but for several reasons I'm leaning more toward studying medicine in Europe now, particularly in Spain.

If you are familiar with the Spanish university system (e.g. because you have studied or lived in Spain), I would be extremely thankful if you could answer some of the questions I have:

1. Do I have to take the Selectividad exam even though I'm an EU international student, and I already have a bachelor in chemistry?

2. Do you know if I can receive credits for my bachelor that count toward the medicine degree?

3. What are the best universities for medicine in Spain? I've heard of many, especially the University of Navarra, which is private. Do you think I can attend the University of Navarra even though I'm not Catholic? And what about the University of Salamanca, and the two big ones (Complutense and Autonoma) in Madrid?

Thank you so much for your help!!

Best regards!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm from Portugal and know some people who studied medicine in Spain.
However, I'm not very familiar with the admission criteria, sorry. The only thing I know is that you must take a Spanish exam.
Also, from what I've heard, the University of Salamanca is the most reputed one.

EDIT: Just found out a couple more things.
(This applies to someone who just graduated from highschool.)
The admission criteria is the final average grade one gets at the end of highschool. However, this is adjusted by a series of exams, to ensure foreign students grades are somewhat equivalent to spanish ones.