MD & DO Traveled past three years, 2012 graduate. Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RCatalyticalChemist

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I also posted this in the nontraditional thread as well, so I apologize for the double post.

I was wondering how strong of a candidate I am for medical schools, primarily MD with a few top DO's (MSU, in particular). Also, what schools would I have the best chances of gaining admission? I know I have to re-take the MCAT because of how old my scores are, so I am going to plan for August. Should I apply late in the cycle after the MCAT, or wait until next summer entirely?

I graduated three years ago (2012) from a decent University in California, with a 4.0 sGPA, 3.91 cGPA as Summa Cum Laude. I earned my B.S. in Biochemistry and Physics, and I took the MCAT in 2011, with a score of 38Q. I also worked as a scribe in the ER my sophomore to senior years, conducted research all fours years, and I have a variety of volunteer hours and have shadowed multiple doctors in different specialties, both MD and DO.

Now, my whole life I have worked toward becoming a doctor, but during my senior year, my younger brother died in an auto collision, and I was completely devastated. My plan was to apply to medical schools after graduation, and use my gap year to travel, but because of the incident, I fell into a deep depression for about 6 months. After realizing that life essentially goes on (and that I should have applied to medical schools despite the hardship), I decided to travel on the limited budget I had.

My travel time was intended for only about 6 months, just in time to prepare and submit applications during the summer 2013 cycle, but my family received a large settlement from the incident, and my travel time got longer…and longer…and now, I’m here. I essentially got so caught up with seeing the world, that I left my whole life on hold.