Unbalanced MCAT (8, 10, 13), 3.9 GPA, need help with list

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thefuzzybuffalo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
First off...I'm not retaking the MCAT. I made a 31, PS 8, VR 10, BS 13. I'm a TX resident, so I feel I still have a good shot at getting in somewhere even with the 8 in PS. I made A's in both physics and chemistry, I just panicked at the beginning of the MCAT that set me behind 5-7 minutes which resulted in a lot of guessing. I'm a mom with 2 kids under the age of 4, so studying for the new MCAT and doing well before I apply in June just won't happen.

I'm a non-trad (27), work as a scribe, have my own business, volunteered 200+ hrs, and will hopefully have research lined up for the summer. I'm confident in my LOR, EC's etc.

Can any of you help me with my list? I'm planning on going military (the HPSP scholarship), so cost isn't a factor. Location is a factor for me--I want a school where I know my family will be happy. I'd love to go to anywhere Florida (I lived there for 10 years, but I'm worried they won't consider me due to my TX residency).

Are there schools who are more "lenient" toward students on the low-end of PS? As of right now, I'm only looking at MD schools.

Here's my current long list:

Florida:

1). Central Florida

2). FIU-Wertheim

3). Florida Atlantic-Schmidt

4). Miami-Miller

5). USF-Morsani

California:

6). Loma Linda

Illinois:

7). Rush Medical College

8). University of Illinois

9). Chicago Medical School at Rosalind

10). Loyola University

Louisiana:

11). LSU New Orleans

North Carolina:

12). Wake Forest

13). University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

South Carolina:

14). Medical University of S. Carolina

15). University of South Carolina

16). University of South Carolina (Greenville)

Texas

17). Texas Tech Paul Foster

18). UT San Antonio

19). UTMB

20). UT Houston

21). UT Southwestern

Virginia: