Undergraduate research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rsgrig36

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry I wasn't able to get a response in the research section-

Hey I am currently a freshman in college but I have some questions regarding research that I hope somebody can help me out on:

1. Summer (10 week) programs, how much experience do you need to get accepted to one of these programs? What exactly do they expect of you? I am hoping to get accepted somewhere after my Junior Year but I would only have taken classes in Physics, General Bio, Some Upper Level Bio (Genetics, etc), General Chemistry, and Organic Chemistry. I would also have taken Statistics. I am worried that I wouldn't be able to assist as much as they wish me to, any thoughts?

-Can anybody who has done this type of program please write their background in the sciences they had when attending and what exactly their duties entailed?

2. I am a sportsmedicine major trying to get published before I graduate undergraduate studies. Would Medical Schools look at my publication the same as they would a publication from say a Chemistry or Biology major? Does being a Sportsmedicine major put me at a disadvantage?

-I was going to try and research the effects of Beta Alanine on Athletes and adult males, I couldn't find much research on the subject matter despite it being a popular sports supplement, would something like this have a chance at being published?

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry I wasn't able to get a response in the research section-

Hey I am currently a freshman in college but I have some questions regarding research that I hope somebody can help me out on: