University of California, Davis: visiting 4 weeks as exchange student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mangostin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a student from Netherlands - Belgium who got the opportunity to apply for a clinical rotation of 2 - 4 weeks at Dentistry and Oral Surgery at the University of Davis, California. Knowing my ticket will be quite expensive to get there and room and board should also be paid, I was wondering if it would be worthwhile.
Could anyone give me some information about how the university is like? How much does room and board cost around there? Is anyone familiar with the Dentistry and Oral Surgery of Companion Animals rotation from Dr. Verstraete?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Mangostin!
I haven't worked personally with Dr Verstraete (only a second-year student here), but he did one lecture for us and it was well-organized and easy to follow, for what it's worth.
As far as room and board goes, have you talked to the school about helping you find a place? We get regular emails from administration on behalf of exchange students looking for places to stay. The cost really varies depending on if you're sharing an apartment, house, etc. Most are between $500-$1000 per month though, for a room. Entire apartments tend to run over $1000 USD (I know that's a wide range >.<). My room mates and I subleted our house last summer to exchange students, and it was about $1700 per month, divided among several students. If you're here over the summer you can probably find better deals due to the availability of sublets.