UPenn, Tufts, UCLA, or USC ? CAN'T DECIDE!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GoBear

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have a bit of delimma as it comes to time to pick a school that I will spend the next crucial four years with. I am currently accepted by UPenn and Tufts, and will be going for interview at UCLA and USC in the next weeks. I have read lots of responses from prior correspondances and like some, I LOVE Tufts!! When I interviewed there, i was so impressed with their sim clinic and everything else that I think I am now more incline to pick Tufts over UPenn. The reason is the following:

1) I know I am just an average student who works hard, so probably won't be the top of the class at UPenn. Thus, specilizing is out of the question. In this respect, I will most likely to do general dentistry but definitely want to do the 1 year residency program or the Advanced General Dentistry Education. UPenn, which is known for matching its students with specialization and more into research, is probably not a right school for me. Am I correct?

2) I have heard much negative comments about Philly, and my mentor has advised me to go with Tufts, even if by some miracle I got accepted to UCLA. I want to go to a more open-minded city that will tolerate diversity. Boston or LA seem to be a much sensible choice as compare to Philly.