MD & DO What are my chances? I tried to be thorough with provided info

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

advicecollector

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello to the visitors of the SDN forum. I have been a long time lurker and have decided to finally post a WAMC thread to gauge myself as I apply next cycle for the 2018 school year. I am applying to both MD and DO schools. I will try my best to accurately give information without embellishment and bias. I have a rough idea of where I stand but would greatly appreciate your input and suggestions, especially in what I should do in these crucial coming months.

GPA
I graduated from UC Davis with a BS in Biological Sciences with a GPA of 3.36 in 2015. I had a science GPA of 3.27. I have 2 minors in English and Humanities. I understand my GPA is not stellar but I am having difficulty thinking of feasible ways to possibly retake any classes or join a Post Bac program due to time, funds, and family.

MCAT
My MCAT Score: 505 (126/127/126/126) taken 7/22/2016. I am actually quite disappointed in myself here. Before the MCAT, I had been consistently scoring 508 (126/128/127/127). I have been struggling with the question of whether or not retaking the exam in February or March. I feel even more pressured and am terrified of potentially doing worse. I would really appreciate any input!

State of residence/Ethnicity
I am a California resident. I am Asian – Vietnamese

Clinical Experience
I volunteered and interned at a university endorsed free clinic for about 2 and a half years. Originally, I was an intern and then became an intern coordinator. Additionally, I also volunteered at a Sacramento hospital for about 1 year in various departments (Transplant, ER, pharmacy).

Reserach Experience
I volunteered at a Plant Genetics research laboratory for 1 year (no publications/abstracts)

Shadowing