What are my chances of getting into UC schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Luvahgilahsa

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm a Wisconsin resident applying for admission in 2013
I have really wanted to go to California ever since high school, but back then my family lived in Syracuse, so my parents wanted to keep me close, so i never got a chance to apply to any UC's. I ended up going to Cornell, which isn't bad, but the weather here is sooo depressing,and I think I have enough of this northeastern gloomy weather ( did you know that it snowed like two weeks ago??? It's literally 40 degrees outside right now). I want to apply to UCLA, UC Irvine, etc, but I think those are pretty hard to get into as a nonresident, so I'm kind of worried...
So here are my stats

I have 3.75-3.8GPA,
not sure yet because the semester isn't over.

I haven't taken any MCATs yet, but will in June.
I got a 30 on the only practice MCAT i took, so i'm hoping to aim for a 35 or higher after a few weeks of intense studying.

I have done 2+ years of research in a plant pathology lab.
generated some great data, but would not be able to publish until next year :(

I have volunteered at local hospital for 2 semester+summer.
ER as well as long term patient visits

I have shadowed two doctors.

I have 3 pretty okay rec letters, two from science professors and one from chinese professor. i'm hoping to get one more from the physician I shadowed.

So what are my chances at getting into UC schools if I'm not a resident? I would be so happy if I can go, seriously.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
how come no one is giving me an answer :(

I don't think I'm qualified to give a good answer (I'm applying for admission in 2014 haha), but maybe people could give you a better assessment once you actually take the MCAT.