What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rosieck

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently planning on applying to MD and DO programs. What do you guys think I should improve? I am going to take my MCAT in May and so I will not know my score until I've already applied. I am not applying to "reach" schools per say, so my MCAT will not dictate where I apply. I am a Florida resident and will apply to all the Florida schools and DO schools. I will cast a wide net by applying around the south as well. I am planning on applying as early as possible.

Ivy League grad majored in neuroscience
Undergrad GPA: 3.3
Science GPA: 3.4
Post bacc GPA 3.9 (Bio 1, Orgo 1, Orgo 2, Biochem, cell bio).
Overall BCPM: 3.6
MCAT: will take in May and will hope for the best!

LORs: Great letters of rec from 2 science professors (Organic chem and biochem) and college coach.

ECCs
-4 year varsity athlete: Freshman of the year, MVP, academic All Ivy selection, team captain.
-Medical scribe: 4 months in ENT clinic
-Volunteer and mentor at elementary school helping kids read
-Volunteer: cofounded a program to teach minorities how to swim
-Certified nurse assistant: full time job
-Swim coach for a team specializing in special needs kids
-Mentor/tutor for special needs college students
-Shadowed various surgeries. Spent a lot of time in the clinic due to work, so I'm not sure how much more shadowing I need.

Research
-Alzheimers research for one summer after freshmen year in college
-Social neuroscience research junior year in college (no publications)
-Waiting on a Mayo clinic research opportunity for a year long position in a neuroscience and cancer research lab.

Members don't see this ad.