What are my EC's worth

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jaw93

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First off just my quick info:
  • Sophmore at University of Arizona
  • Finance Major (a little untraditional)
  • Chem minor
  • 3.6 overall gpa (and climbing. I got a 3.15 my first semester as a freshman and have been fighting back up since)
  • 3.9 BCPM gpa (got A's in bio, chem and ochem. got a B in calc and ochem lab)

I know my biggest deficit for apply to med-school is my EC's. I lack clinical experience or research right now. My first 1.5 years in college I focused on education as my EC's. I have been a preceptor and tutor for Bio for a year. I also had a paid job through my school where I would lead, plan and facilitate collaborative and interactive study sessions for up to 20 students in Bio. The position was called a Supplemental Instructor if anyone has heard of the SI model of teaching.

My other EC's
  • Played on the school's rugby team for a year (stopped due to injury)
  • I have been a youth wrestling coach for the last few years. I have about 250-300 hours with this
  • Leadership positions within my fraternity and other various community services
  • Eagle Scout

Ok now on to my real question:
Because I am a finance major which has nothing to do with med I have to find time to take my sciences. Because of this I have taken summer school every summer, and I will again this upcoming summer. This has taken away valuable time for clinical experience. even if I start next semester (fall of my junior year) do I have time to get significant clinical/research experience? I feel like it wont be enough time to for me to show the depth of the experience. If this is the case, are my other EC's strong enough to help my candidancy. I have aspirations to go to a mid to top tier school and I hope to have my GPA around 3.8 by the time I apply.

Members don't see this ad.