What do I need to improve? Applying for 2018 class

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TeddyPain

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have made a decision to change my career path, and I was hoping that I can find much needed assistance in this forum! I found this forum today, so I apologize if I break any etiquette.

Here is a little about myself and why I made a decision to change career paths. I graduated with a B.S. in Bioinformatics and B.A. in Economics in 2012. I'm a 23 year old male. I set myself up to have a career in academia as I was involved on two research projects during my undergrad. One was an independent project in which I received two fellowships to study the evolution of certain mutations in avian DNA comprising the entire diversity of modern birds (I had some wet lab exp, but it was mostly computational, so I didn't have any experience with the birds directly - but I was thinking I might be able to use this on my app). I presented my research at two conferences including a national bioinformatics conference. For the other project, we developed a software tool, and the manuscript is currently in peer review (This was a group research project, so I had less input). I am currently applying to a bio-medical graduate programs, and I believe I will get in, but I am much more interested in veterinary medicine now.