What do you do when your GPA still isn't good enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopeless_pedantic

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
To expand on my title: I graduated from my undergraduate institution nine years ago with zero intention of becoming a doctor. Still, I majored in biology because I simply like the subject, and just so happened to complete all the foundational classes for the pre-med track. Years later, "life" convinced me that becoming a doctor was something I wanted/needed to do. The problem was my undergraduate GPA was way too low to be competitive with one F and three Ds (which I have since re-took). By then I had already started a master's program (that I was crushing), and I even retook an organic chemistry post-bac class to prove my proficiency. I tried to raise my total GPA as much as possible, but even though I graduated with a 3.8 master's and aced my post-bac orgo course, my 120+ undergraduate credits are pulling me down. My total GPA is literally 2.99 and I'm afraid it'll screen me out from a lot of schools or at least put be on the back-burner because it's sub-3.0. My MCAT is competitive for DO schools (i'm already kind of convinced I have no shot at MD programs) and this is my second application cycle (no interviews the first go-round). I have stellar ECs, personal statement, LORs, research, volunteer, publications, leadership...you name it. SO my question is -- Has anyone ever had any luck with e-mailing or calling admissions departments personally and said something like "listen, you're not going to see my application because my GPA is below 3.0, but please, I'm begging you to go back and find it and consider it." How would you recommend going about contacting adcoms? I have worked so, so, so freaking hard to prove I'm more than my undergraduate GPA, but I don't know what else I can do at this point to even be given a chance.

Members don't see this ad.