What is next after MD in Philippines?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ClassicDyn

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm currently studying my MD at Fatima University Valenzuela.

I have some confusion about going into residency (in the US) after completion.

First of all, do I have to take USMLE step 1, 2 and 3 in the Philippines and if so at what years?
Secondly, do I leave for my residency straight after completing my fourth-year clinical clerkship and if so do I complete my post-graduate internship in the US?
And finally, how can I prepare for my Rivalida Examinations and USMLE exams?

Thanks a lot. Any help will be truly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys,

I'm currently studying my MD at Fatima University Valenzuela.

I have some confusion about going into residency (in the US) after completion.

First of all, do I have to take USMLE step 1, 2 and 3 in the Philippines and if so at what years?
Secondly, do I leave for my residency straight after completing my fourth-year clinical clerkship and if so do I complete my post-graduate internship in the US?
And finally, how can I prepare for my Rivalida Examinations and USMLE exams?

Thanks a lot. Any help will be truly appreciated!

Hi,
I'm also a medical student and I'm planning to practice medicine in the US. I have applied to take the usmle step 1 this October-December 2018. To answer your question, it actually depends on your visa status. Do you have a US visa, are you a permanent resident card holder/green card? And also if you are a medical student or a medical graduate.

Just like you I was overwhelmed with questions because medical school in the Philippines are programmed to prepare you to take the PLE. So if you want to take the USMLE, you will have to do some serious studying on your own.