What's your story? (Pre Vet)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prevet04

OVC c/o 2021
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone! I just wanted to make a thread for people to share their stories and get advice on their applications.

Here's my story:
I'm an undergrad at University of Guelph majoring in Animal Biology, applying to OVC for the second time in Jan 2015. First time I applied to OVC (this year) I didn't get an interview. My marks were in the mid to high 70% range for my prereqs and last 2 semesters. My MCAT score was a 23 (writing it again in a few days to try to bump my score). This will be my third time writing my MCAT (if that doesn't show determination, I don't know what does haha!) My marks are improving, it just sucks when you struggle through first and second year and you can't retake courses for OVC. I would love to go back in time and slap my first year self for doing so poorly in classes.

My experience includes volunteering at a companion animal clinic, assisting with clinical nutrition research on cats, equine vet shadowing, working at a canine rehab and chiropractic clinic, and working as an on call technician at the OVC in the large and small animal surgery wards. I am also working on publishing a literature review in JAVMA in the near future.

I've been casually looking at Ross, SGU, and schools in the UK. I would love to go to the States because it is closer to home, but I am missing a bunch of prerequisites and my first year physics/chem/bio courses are all pretty awful.