Where do I go from undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Diddy30

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
When I picture myself in my dream job I’m mainly doing psychotherapy. I would like to collaborate on treatment plans with other healthcare professionals and I think acute cases would be interesting, but I realize it’s much more likely that I’ll be working in an out-patient setting. I will probably want to participate in research and I would like to have the options of teaching later down the road.

What is the best route for me to take? PsyD, PhD, or settle for my masters? I don’t want to create a ton of debt for myself, I would like to be versatile, but I’m mainly interested in psychotherapy. I’m just starting out so I could use any info/guidance that I could get. My goal is to be able to survive while I’m paying back my debt.

Members don't see this ad.

Early on in my "what do I do with this bachelor's degree" discussions, I was debating between the PhD and PsyD. A few of my professors encouraged me not to do the PsyD. If you want to teach in a higher educational setting, apparently PsyDs do not get hired traditionally for these types of positions. Also, if you really want to do research, just as much if not more than be a clinician, the PhD route could be better.

However, if you don't love research, then going the route of the PsyD would probably bring you more educational and career satisfaction. My understanding is that there is research involved in the PsyD but not nearly as much compared to getting a PhD. PhD graduate programs are incredibly research intensive, for the most part, so if you don't love research, it will be a long 5-7 years.