MD & DO Where Do I Stand Right Now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

revenge101

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
--

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Your next milestone is the MCAT. You could get into Harvard with that 3.7 if you get a great MCAT score and have strong ECs. Dropping the ball on the MCAT could result in you not getting accepted anywhere. Study for a minimum of 3 months and get some test prep materials. I'm not sure which ones to recommend for the new exam, but we have a MCAT forum.

Hello everyone,

I am a sophomore majoring in chemistry, and I am planning to apply for med school (MD and DO) next summer. I am panicking right now, believing that my stats are not good enough for MD schools, so I would like some feedback based on my stats and any recommendation for improving them/building a list of schools:

Stats:
-cGPA: 3.7

-sGPA: 3.7 (I have 1 B- for Orgo I and a B+ for Orgo Lab I during the summer after my freshman year, but have been working to boost my sGPA. My GPA also shows an upward trend, and I have not lightened my courseload in any way. Also, I took biochemistry as a sophomore and received an A.)

-Research: Working on a clinical research study since October 2013. Expecting to publish as second author and perhaps to go to a conference. Also, I started a germination research project at a biology research lab at my university, but I decided to do research in pediatrics.

-Shadowing: I have shadowed an interventional radiologist for 2 months for ~40 hours and a general pediatrician for 5 hours. I'm also planning to shadow physicians in other fields as well.

-Volunteering:
  • Senior home volunteer (~100 hours)
  • UNICEF (~20 hours)
  • Autism Speaks (~30 hours)
  • fundraisers for an honor society (not sure if this counts) (~20 hours)
-Teaching:
  • Tutoring for General Chemistry and Calculus (~3 hours/week for 1 year now)