where to get ph.d? questions @ transferring/studying in England

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

books31

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my first year of grad. school. I am unhappy (not with my school) with the location and looking to transfer to a university out of state. Although, I want to have some of my studying done abroad in London.

Would it best to finish out the master's segment in the US? Then obtain the Ph.D in London? Or should I transfer out now to London for the master's and then apply for the Ph.D in the US?

Ultimately, I want to have my own private practice in southern Calif. But I definitely want to study in London.

Ph.D US?
Ph.D London?

Members don't see this ad.

Getting licensed to practice in the US will be simpler if you degree is granted here. You definitely need to explore the California state licensing laws in relation to degrees granted outside the US and actually talk to someone who has negotiated gaining one from a UK school

due to the extreme differences between curricula, a UK PhD would likely to be rejected by many BOPs.

this is not undergrad. there is no semester abroad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am in my first year of grad. school. I am unhappy (not with my school) with the location and looking to transfer to a university out of state. Although, I want to have some of my studying done abroad in London.

Would it best to finish out the master's segment in the US? Then obtain the Ph.D in London? Or should I transfer out now to London for the master's and then apply for the Ph.D in the US?

Ultimately, I want to have my own private practice in southern Calif. But I definitely want to study in London.

Ph.D US?
Ph.D London?