Medical Will course taken in home country before starting undergrad in US count towards pre-req requirement?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a first year undergraduate student who will be completing a semester of study in my home country (academic year goes from February to December) before starting college in the States this Fall. I'm planning on taking Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Calculus and Statistics classes so I can transfer them for credit and place out of introductory B/C/P classes, and fulfil the two semesters of math requirement for medical school with my Calculus and Statistics classes. I believe these classes will show up on my transcript as the equivalent class in college, but with a "TR" instead of a grade. Is this a good idea? And do you think that the classes will successfully transfer, since I'm coming from a different country where the course content might be different to the course content in the States? Thanks! :)
You should contact your undergrad institution and ask them directly if the courses will transfer for credit towards your undergrad degree. For medical school, I would advise against doing all your prerequisite courses out of the county and not being graded.

Members don't see this ad.

Thank you for your reply. Since I'm only taking one semester of each class, I will still be taking the rest of my Biology, Chemistry and Physics classes in the States to complete my prerequisites of 1 year of biology, 2 years of chemistry, 1 year of physics, etc., I'd only be using the transfer credit for the intro courses similar to using AP credit to place out. Is this still okay?
Let me make sure I am understanding what you are saying:

For example, you would take "Intro to General Chemistry" out of the country and then General Chemistry 1 (med school prereq) and General Chemistry 2 (medical school prereq) at your US undergrad?