Will i get into medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Will i get in

• yes

Votes: 1 8.3%
  • no

Votes: 11 91.7%

• Total voters

Dagrimsta1

Current Representation of PGY-3
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am currently a student at York college which is a CUNY, (City University of New York) school. My school is not very fancy and well known and isn't located in the nicest of areas but it is an accredited 4 year university. I am currently a bio major with these grades. I really just want some opinions and advice.

Bio 1: B- Bio 2: B-
Chem 1: B- Chem 2: B+
Orgo 1: A- Orgo 2: looking at an A to A- (at least)
Physics 1: Probably a C+ to at most a B Physics 2: Hopefully B or A but doubtful
Calculus 1: B+

These are my only science courses for now. I am currently a lower junior turning upper in the spring. I am planning to take biochem and physics 2 in the spring while studying for my mcats for 2015. I have done one year of research in a neurobiology lab as well as worked, valet, pharmacy as a delivery boy and in a medical office doing clerical work. I am going into organic chemistry research now which is ongoing to add to my research. Any advice tips or and opinions please?

BTW my gpa is 3.3 overall at the moment and around 3.1 science. I have never gotten a C in college yet... Also I dont know if its important but my gpa has risen every semester i was in college starting at a 3.0 to a 3.3 now, and hopefully that wont change. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Your GPA is pretty low for MD schools, but DO schools will give you a shot if you do reasonably well on your MCAT. That is speaking strictly from a numbers perspective

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I'll just repeat what I said on the other thread.