Workers compensation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Smokeydoc

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an employed physician (interventional pain medicine ) at a hospital setting in California.

A friend of mine (is a lawyer) does a lot of workers compensation. He sees the patients and sends them out to the doctors he knows.

He told me if I started my own practice he could easily refer 75 (if not closer to 100) patients a month.

I am trying to understand the sort of compensation I will get from just 75 workers comp patients a month till the rest of the practice picks up and if it will be worth my while. would love people's feed back that deal with these patients. I could be the primary and also do all the interventional procedures that are needed.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

It pays a lot, and 75 WC pts right off the bat is a lot of wine when you get home from work.

There are ethics here BTW. He will want your opinion to be favorable to his side, and at some point may begin pressuring you to make decisions you're uncomfortable making.

75 WC pts is a lot of ancillary money too.

I'd do it, but let him know you're ethical and objective above all else.

This could be very lucrative.

It’s very paperwork driven. You need to have your staff trained down to a T to make sure you’re paid for the work you are doing. That means compensatory diagnoses clearly marked and everything follows ODG, although I think California may have their own set of guidelines for msk stuff.

Members don't see this ad :)
It pays a lot, and 75 WC pts right off the bat is a lot of wine when you get home from work.

There are ethics here BTW. He will want your opinion to be favorable to his side, and at some point may begin pressuring you to make decisions you're uncomfortable making.

75 WC pts is a lot of ancillary money too.

I'd do it, but let him know you're ethical and objective above all else.